Emanuel Ax and Xian Zhang - 940 x 400 - Title Only.jpg

NJSO presents Emanuel Ax & Xian Zhang

2019 Winter Festival: Music Speaks

XIAN ZHANG conductor

Xian Zhang has a special affinity for Tchaikovsky, whose monumental Manfred Symphony is based on Lord Byron’s epic poem of doomed love. Superstar Emanuel Ax displays his own Mozartean gifts in the composer’s luxuriant Piano Concerto No. 22.

MOZART Piano Concerto No. 22
Ever the prolific creator, Mozart wrote three piano concertos while working on The Marriage of Figaro. No. 22’s expanded orchestra heralded a new age in symphonic writing.

TCHAIKOVSKY Manfred Symphony
Gripping, one of the great program symphonies; forbidden romance is the subject of this musical tale, which follows its wizardly hero as roams the Alps seeking transformation through forgetfulness

Event Times

  • January 10, 2019 7:30 PM Add

Group Sales

Group sales discounts vary on a show by show basis and some artist restrictions may apply. Group discounts are available ONLY through our group sales manager. Please contact [email protected] or 201-816-8160, ext. 22 for more information.